When did “I don’t want to see/read it” mean “keep nagging until I give in?”

So, in a SF/F group I follow, the ugly side of geekdom reared its ugly head.  It started with a link to an article that accused the Science Fiction writing community of being white racist bigots.  Now, I’m more interested in a good story, regardless of the genders, races, religions, sexual orientations or whatever of the characters.  I will admit that I am personally not at all interested in reading same sex romance novels.  I don’t even like heterosexual erotica.  Outside of sex, I really see no difference between “normal” people and LGBT people.  (Apparently, I am either an anomaly or people like me are just really quiet. But whatever.)

However, the talk started drifting over to reboots and remakes, and the shouting over the fence resumed.  Me?  I don’t tend to like reboots and remakes, though I will usually wait to see them to judge them when they appear.  Even when it was my parents’ generation of things being remade, it was a 50/50 chance of whether the original was better than the newest edition.

Now, reboots and remakes are all that seems to happen.  And I, for one, am getting tired of my childhood being torn down and remade into things that don’t resonate with me.  So, when Battlestar Galactica was rebooted, that’s when I drew a line.  I have refused to watch the new series because I want one thing from my childhood to still remain intact.  I don’t care how good it is.  I was not and am not interested.  I would rather read a new author or see an entirely new series than see this.  And I want to choose whether I want to partake, not because the masses are all gooey over it.

But no matter how many times I say I don’t want to see something, I keep being encouraged to give in and go watch.  It’s a damned fictional TV series.  Who cares if I have seen it or not?  “No Means No” is not just about sex.

Please respect how I wish to allocate my minimal time to what I want, not what you want. Thank you.

About LexyWolfe

I am a writer of fantasy and occasionally science fiction.
This entry was posted in General Stuff and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to When did “I don’t want to see/read it” mean “keep nagging until I give in?”

  1. adtrosper says:

    I agree on both topics you’ve raised here.

    Like

  2. Max Baskin says:

    I’m with you on BSG. I’ve pissed off a lot of people with my outright refusal to watch it and they’re exactly the sort of people I want to piss off because they don’t respect my right to make my own choices. Mind you, part of it might be how I phrase it: I refuse to acknowledge the existence of a Battlestar Galactica in which Starbuck doesn’t have a penis. If they’d used different names or made the series in the same universe but further in the future, I’d have been fine.

    Like

    • LexyWolfe says:

      Heck, why not just make it a different universe altogether and, I don’t know, be unique and creative? Anymore, they’re just hijacking what my generation loved to sucker us back in and bring our kids with us. The kids don’t know any different and think it’s great. There was nothing wrong with Starbuck being a guy. If they wanted more variety, get some other pilots with their own names and identities. And what’s with the human-looking cylons anyway? Maybe some, but really. Nothing wrong with outright robot-looking robots. 😛

      Like

  3. TerryMaggert says:

    I hate to break it to the nerds, but having Edward James Olmos mutter his way through hours of geopolitical claptrap doesn’t consist of a re-make– it’s a direct revision of a nice idea from thirty years ago. I find revisionists and post-modernists to be the LEAST open minded people, in direct contradiction of their alleged love of all things “new”, and therefore, better. Now, the glowing spine in a smoking hot Cylon agent/RealDoll? That aspect did work for me. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

