What marketing annoys you the least?

So, it seems to become successful as a novelist, one has to do the following:

  1. Write a lot.
  2. Edit a lot.
  3. Proof a lot more.
  4. Repeat 2-3 several times.
  5. Market successfully.

The stickler for me seems to be #5 up there.  Why?  Because as someone on the receiving end of marketing, I find most of it obnoxious, condescending, and annoying.  Most of the time, it turns me off.  But, I have no idea if I’m the norm or an anomaly.  So, what draws people in?  Keeps them from hitting mute?  Encourages them not to surf away as fast as possible?

 

About LexyWolfe

I am a writer of fantasy and occasionally science fiction.
This entry was posted in Writing Stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What marketing annoys you the least?

  1. Jen Ponce says:

    Anything that asks me a question, entertains me, is subtle. When I think of the advertising that’s worked on me, that’s convinced me to buy a book, it’s usually funny or interesting posts on Facebook (that aren’t ads, just good posts by authors), contests (I like winning things) and posts for free books.

    Like

  2. I think the most effective advertisement convinces the consumer that their life will be improved by this product by tapping into whatever ideals are important to them: family, health, aesthetics, etc. It’s subtle and deceptive because a lot of time, the product doesn’t affect those things at all. But it works, by getting the consumer to think they’re somehow deficient without it.

    But honest advertisement/marketing, that aims to make you aware of actual benefits of something? Rare indeed, but able to create a true and honest following. There’s a reason why creative products (books, music, movies) thrive on word-of-mouth advertising. You trust your best friend’s opinion way more than a one-page spread in a magazine.

    Like

    • LexyWolfe says:

      I had hoped word-of-mouth would work, but things seem to stumble there, too. I guess the trick is either finding the people who like to tell others about what they read or making something so inspiring they can’t help but tell them.

      Like

  3. I think you got it there. The trick is making an undeniably good product! Talk about pressure.

    Marketing really scares me, because it’s like the opposite of how I normally operate. HEY GUYS LOOK HOW AWESOME I AM! So uncomfortable with that. Thinking about publishing a book and having to promote it makes me sweat.

    Like

    • LexyWolfe says:

      Yeah. I have been able to publish a book. Three, in fact, though I’m working to update the covers for the second two. But the whole, “Look at me! I am awesome!” thing? Yeah, I don’t do it very well. Marketing is trying to come across as humble but not being humble by telling the world how awesome you are. It’s a conundrum.

      Like

Leave a Reply

